2018
07.12
WordPress 5.0 – Hello Bebo

With version 5.0 a new major release of WordPress has been released. It is named after the Cuban jazz musician Bebo Valdés.

With this version the editor Gutenberg becomes standard and replaces the previous editor. It divides posts and pages into blocks that are easy to customize in the editor: a headline block, one for the first paragraph, one for a picture, and so on. The blocks can be re-sorted, deleted and configured individually. WordPress offers the plug-in “Classic Editor” to users who can not or do not want to part with the classic editor. It restores “the previous WordPress editor and its edit mode.” WordPress wants to support the classic editor until 2021.

Before upgrading to 5.0, users should back up their site to return to the old version in an emergency. Users should also check that the installed theme and enabled plug-ins are compatible with Gutenberg.

With WordPress 5.0 also the new standard theme “Twenty Nineteen” has been released. comes with custom styles for the blocks that are available by default in 5.0. Twenty Nineteen has been designed to work with a wide range of use cases.

back

2018
07.12
WordPress 5.0 – Hallo Bebo

Mit der Version 5.0 ist ein neues Major-Release von WordPress erschienen. Es ist nach dem kubanischen Jazz-Musiker Bebo Valdés benannt.

Mit dieser Version wird der Editor Gutenberg zum Standard und löst den bisherigen Editor ab. Er teilt Beiträge und Seiten in Blöcke auf, die sich im Editor bequem anpassen lassen: ein Block für die Überschrift, einer für den ersten Absatz, einer für ein Bild und so weiter. Die Blöcke lassen sich umsortieren, löschen und individuell konfigurieren. WordPress bietet Nutzern, die sich partout nicht vom klassischen Editor trennen können oder wollen, das Plug-in „Classic Editor“ an. Es stellt „den bisherigen WordPress-Editor und dessen Bearbeiten-Modus wieder her.“ Den klassischen Editor will WordPress bis 2021 unterstützen.

Vor einem Update auf Version 5.0 sollten Nutzer ein Backup ihrer Site anlegen, um im Notfall zur alten Version zurückkehren zu können. Nutzer sollten zudem prüfen, ob das installierte Theme und die aktivierten Plug-ins mit Gutenberg kompatibel sind.

Mit WordPress 5.0 ist auch das neue Standard-Theme „Twenty Nineteen“ erschienen. kommt mit eigenen Styles für die Blöcke, die standardmäßig in 5.0 verfügbar sind. Twenty Nineteen wurde gestaltet, um mit einer großen Breite von Anwendungsfällen zu funktionieren.

zurück